Yoga teaches us how to live a harmonious life at physical mental and spiritual level.

To block the pattern of consciousness is yoga

Maharishi Patanjali is founder of the formal Yoga philosophy.

Origin of word ‘Yoga’ is from Sanskrit root ‘Yuj’, which means ‘union’. It means act of uniting and state of being united. It is the art of total Harmony, which results from uniting of the individual’s various levels of existence.

In this way the meaning of ‘Yoga’ to unite body, mind and spirit with divine.

In India, Yoga is considered one of the six branches of classical philosophy and is referred to throughout the Vedas – ancient Indian scriptures and amongst the oldest texts in existence. The Upanishads are also broadly philosophical treatises which postdate the Vedas and deal with the nature of the “soul” and universe.

Raja Yoga(the royal path of yoga) includes the following system:

  • Kundalni yoga; also called laya yoga
  • Kriya yoga
  • Mantra yoga
  • Dhyana yoga as described in Bhagavad Gita
  • Patanjali yoga

Pantanjali yoga is also known as Ashtang yoga as it describes about the eight fundamental stages of yoga(“Eight-Limbed Yoga”):

  • Yama: Social Code
  • Niyama:Personal Code
  • Asana: Posture,seat
  • Pranayama: Control of life energy through the breath
  • Pratyahara: Mind withdrawal from the senses.
  • Dharana: Concentration
  • Dhyana: Meditation
  • Samadhi: Super consciousness or union with the divine.

Yoga defines itself as a science–that is, as a practical, methodical, and systematic discipline or set of techniques that have the lofty goal of helping human beings to become aware of their deepest nature. When we transform ourselves and experience serenity, peace, and freedom, we also transform our societies and all of human civilization. This awareness of the infinite consciousness is the practical and real goal of yoga.

Benefits of Yoga:
Specific Benefits

  • Yamas helps us to harmonize one’s social interaction.
  • Niyams harmonize one’s inner feelings.
  • Asanas balances the different nerve implulses,feelings of pain and pleasure,heat and cold and all other opposite sensations.
  • Pranayama leads to control and one pointedness.
  • Pratayahara checks and curbs the outgoing tendencies of the mind to direct the awareness inwards.
  • Dharana fixes awareness on one object to the exclusion of all others.
  • Dhyana maintains smooth unfluctuating flow of concentration towards the inner symbol for a period of time.
  • Samadhi leads to complete absence of both external and internal modifications.

General Benefits

  • Helps in management of all chronic disease.
  • Purification of whole bodily mechanism the physical complex.
  • Balances the body energies.
  • Improves concentration.
  • Provides us the healthy physical and mental body.
  • Manages the stress.
  • Conserves energy.
  • It improves the functioning of all the inner organs, the digestion, endocrinal system, respiratory system, circulatory system, heart, brain, muscles, nerves and so on, and they will all respond optimally.
  • It gives a finer control over the fluctuations of emotions and an increased rationality.

Leave a Reply

Translate »